BREAKING NEWS! – Saberforge Forum is no more (taken offline by SF owner)

Yes, Hello Everybody, I am with a sad heart having to bring this little bit of news to saber fans. As some viewers here know I have been a long time contributor to the “fan run” lightsaber forum called Saberforge Forum. Well as the title suggests this forum is no more. Members were greeted with an announcement on 25th April that the site would close on the 30th April. This news wasn’t welcomed warmly and many members showed their disappointment and posted “requests” for the owner Mr Isherwood to reconsider the decision as the forum was such a great resource for information and friendship between saber owners and newcomers to the saber hobby online.

But these pleas fell on deaf/ignorant/uninformed ears and as of the 2nd May the OWNER of the forum finally pulled the switch.He's Done It

It was blamed on the “costs incurred” and “stretching of Saberforge resources” and “not enough usage” and the “there are much more up-to-date social media platforms we could use”. But we have been offered an “Alternative” as you can see in the screenshot……

Well this has in my honest opinion been a mistake. I am not on social media for personal reasons, and because of the current Facebook/Social Media data security issues a lot of other people will prefer not to join up to social media. Other members have already set up various chat rooms for “survivors” to meet up and carry on long established friendships and form new ones. I will in time seek out these groups and join up and hopefully be a helpful contributor to these communities instead.

I just need a break. This past week has been a test. I’d like to think I’m a polite and honest guy/Jedi and if I were to say anymore on this subject in my current frame of mind some of you may question that description of me! I will say that on the forum I had to “bite my lip” to keep to forum rules and tried not to create complications but believe me there were issues that I didn’t speak of and that I feel weren’t dealt with fairly or evenly. I will leave it at that, the people involved know who they are and what they did…whether they say otherwise or not.

I want to celebrate and thank ALL the great members I encountered and shared exchanges with during my time on the now deceased forum. It was a pleasure to be able to help some of you out and the conversations were informative and enjoyable. I will cherish those times and hope some of you will somehow find this place and we can chat again (I couldn’t mention this website on the forum in case I broke Rule Four which said I wasn’t allowed to “recruit” for another website, social media platform or online group/message board).

I now have a lot more time to post here but I will end this post now as I have “wounds” I need to attend to. I am taking as many positives as I can from this experience and will become stronger….as will all of you my friends and forum survivors. I don’t know how many people will see this but it is out there now….take care Forum Survivors and thank you.

(I do want to thank Saberforge for providing the forum in the first place but due to this decision, my praise cannot go any higher than issuing this acknowledgement.)

For Tyeth – former sf forum member.

FTSabersite and all it’s content are ©Copyright of For Tyeth/FTSabersite 2018. Guest Designs and posts are ©Copyright of the Guest Designer and used with permission.

4 thoughts on “BREAKING NEWS! – Saberforge Forum is no more (taken offline by SF owner)”

  1. Hi FT, sorry to hear it worked out that like for your forum. I wonder why the owner didn’t try and sell it on to interested parties? I’m a member of collecting forums myself and it’s been sad to see their decline in recent years in favour of social media, though I can easily understand why and see clearly the modern benefits versus old school forum benefits. I don’t do FB like many of my former forum mates do, nor will I. There is still a few of us keeping things going and it’s surprising how many visitors come and new members still join, but definitely less interaction these days. The wealth of info found on forums is staggering. Hopefully you and your friends can find another place soon.

    1. Thanks TVTA. I can’t fathom the reasoning (though of course I have my private suspicions) for closing it down. I priced up web hosting packages from the same company the owner hired for his online presence and an E-Commerce package for a year was $248.99. But then I don’t know all the details and it would be pointed out to me that I am not a businessman! Thankfully as I mentioned there are new chat room style groups forming which pleases me greatly and after a little break I will seek them out. I am just grateful I have this place my friends can hopefully find me should they wish. Thanks TVTA.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.