Fade Lightsaber – A Saber for the Harkonnen hope

Hello Everybody,  After yesterday’s quick paced design we slow things down and return to the planet Arrakis, also known as Dune. I mentioned in the post Fremen Leader Lightsaber, that the galaxy was ruled by an Emperor and had two warring noble houses. Both of these noble families had young heirs, Paul of House Atreides and Feyd Rautha Harkonnen of House Harkonnen. These two men were the product of a secretive Sisterhood called the Bene Gesserit who used genetic selection and engineering to produce a “superbeing” to help them attain power over the Galaxy. The plan was for a Sister called Jessica to bear a son to Feyd Harkonnen, but Jessica was the concubine of Duke Leto Atreides and she gave birth to a son by the Duke. This child was Paul Atreides and by a twist of fate Paul turned out to be the “superbeing ” called the Kwisatz Haderach. Paul when of age decided on a path of action to end the war but that would bring him into conflict with Feyd. Well, as battle is about to commence I had best present my saber design for Feyd, this is FADE…

This is the weapon for the favoured nephew of the House of Harkonnen, Feyd. This time I will begin my description with the pommel. The pommel(and body) is the same architectural looking part I used on Fremen Leader to signify that Feyd and Paul come from the same genetic conditioning of the Bene Gesserit sisterhood. The body however, this time represents the leather combat suits that Feyd and the Harkonnen soldiers wear. To reinforce this likeness the switch section has silver accents which resemble the buckles and adornments on those suits. The emitter gives off a much more nasty and aggressive look with the three claws, reflecting the Harkonnen Army. The blade is a blood orange and is almost the exact same shade as Feyd’s distinctive spiked hairstyle. Here is a picture of Feyd so you can see what I mean (You may recognise the actor as a certain singing superstar called Sting!)

будущее12
I don’t want to use this! Give me a For Tyeth Edition saber!

It seems my designs are much sought after! I think I have captured Feyd’s character with this hilt. As always if you want to know the outcome of his pivotal battle with Paul Atreides then you will have to watch the movie, no spoilers here! The story of Dune continues as do I! I am always working on new designs and I would be honoured if you would return to see what I have to show in upcoming posts.

As you can probably tell I am drawing near to the end of this post, but I’d like to say thank you for looking in today, and if you’re a regular follower thank you for the continued support! That’s all for today…Till next time.

Dune was written and created by Frank Herbert. All names, images and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Dino DeLaurentis Company (Dino DeLaurentis).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.