Cat’s Claw Lightsaber – A Saber for Selina Kyle

Hello Everybody, today I have a design that is inspired by a famous female comic book villain, who later became an anti-heroine. The character was created way back in 1940 (blimey, that’s older than me!) by Bob Kane and Bill Finger. She was the on-off romantic interest for the saviour and Dark Knight of Gotham City, Batman. I am talking about Selina Kyle or her alter ego…Catwoman!

Catwoman has been a favourite since 1940 (though the character had a rough time during the 50’s due to issues concerning the “Comic Code” rules) and has not only been in comics but appeared on TV and in movies. Famous actresses such as the legends, Eartha Kitt, Lee Meriwether and Julie Newmar portrayed her in the classic 60’s Batman series with Burt Ward and the late great Adam West. On the big screen Michelle Pfeiffer, Halle Berry and most recently Anne Hathaway have taken the role of the feline femme fatale. So enough of my rambling, may I present to you the Cat’s Claw…

This design I feel has the slinky, sultry, feline look associated with our favourite Cat Criminal. The blade is a nice shade of cat’s eye green and projects from an emitter which has it’s own set of whiskers! The switch section reminds me of Catwoman’s waist and gives the saber an hour glass figure look. The body is wrapped in Catwoman’s signature black leather and represents the famous one piece catsuit and mask. To further reinforce that look the hilt is in a gloss black finish. Now I have described nearly all of the saber and I haven’t mentioned the claws yet, well the pommel is the part I chose to recreate those. The pommel is in plain metallic and kind of looks like the sharp metallic nails on the fingers of Catwoman’s gauntlets. I imagine they could do quite a bit of damage. Some of you may be thinking “Hey For, Catwoman uses a Bullwhip, not a saber!” and you would be correct but lightsabers come in different versions and one particular version is a Lightwhip. The Sith lady Lumiya from the now non-canon books and comics used one!

Catwoman 1
Catwoman Herself (DC Comics/Warner Bros.)

I am nearly out of time for this post and will soon have to bring it to an end. But never fear I still have time to thank all my regular viewers and followers for your support. It is much appreciated. My planned post for today had to change due to a situation outside my control, but hopefully no-one noticed and I will continue as normal with more new stuff in upcoming offerings. Oh yes, I also have Borommakot’s new Zodiac Series hilt up next so please join me for that. Till next time.

Catwoman was created by Bob Kane and Bill Finger and first appeared in DC Comics Batman #1. Catwoman, Selina Kyle, Batman and Gotham City and all other names, images and material are Trademark/©Copyright of DC Comics and Warner Bros.

Catwoman (2004) Produced by Warner Bros., Village Roadshow Pictures, DiNovi Pictures, Frantic Films, Maple Shade Films, Catwoman Films. Distributed by Warner Bros.

Leave a Reply

