Mondas – Saber for a Cybernaut

Hello Everybody, today I have a saber that I had mislaid but have rediscovered! It started as I looked up details about the Comic Con I am attending on Sunday. I knew about Mr Harris who played Bossk being there, but I have since discovered details of another special guest. This person appeared in Dr Who and had a run in with the characters that inspired this saber. I will tell you more about this special guest later, but now I need to present my saber for the space warriors known as the Cybermen. They come from a planet of ice and my saber shares the name of that planet, this is…MONDAS…

So, this saber is based on the warriors, the Cybermen. The emitter is representing the boots this time and the switch is the legs of the figure. The body has the diamond cut knurling which reminds me of the Cybermen’s suits…but the crowning glory of this design (at least I think so) is the pommel, which at a glance looks like the famous helmet of the Cybermen life support unit.

Hopefully you can see where I got the inspiration, I think it’s a pretty close similarity! There are ridges on the side which look like the tubes either side of the Cyberman’s head. Plus as I type this, I have just noticed that there is an oblong slot in the pommel that matches the one on the forehead of the helmet!

doctor_who_sophie_sylvester_mccoy_and_cybermen-in_publicity_shot_for_silver_nemesis
The Cybermen, The Doctor and Ace (source BBC TV)

As you can see from the picture the Doctor and his companion posed for publicity shots, and hopefully I will get the chance to meet one of the six people in the picture above on Sunday. If all goes to plan I will be able to tell you all about it in an upcoming post with an accompanying saber design. I hope you will join me then to find out who I get to meet and see the new hilt!

I am running out of time here, as I have to make myself look presentable to go out on Sunday (the Jedi do let their beards get untidy sometimes!). But I want to thank everyone who has visited the site recently and those who have supported me long term. Please do spread the word of FTSabersite and call back to see more. Till next time.

Dr Who was created by Sydney Newman, C.E. Webber and Donald Wilson. The Cybermen, Dr Who, Ace, the TARDIS and all related names and material are Trademark/©Copyright of BBC Television.

2 thoughts on “Mondas – Saber for a Cybernaut”

Leave a Reply

