Trillian’s Toaster – Lightsaber Knife

Hello Everybody, welcome back. I had a strange dream last night and dreamt that an intergalactic construction company had won a contract to build an interplanetary highway….the only problem? They need to destroy planet Earth which happens to be in the way of the new road! Well I would need something nutritious if I were about to take on this problem…I need some…Toast! But don’t worry, I was only dreaming about the movie “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”. However it got me thinking and you may remember that Trillian (played by Zooey Deschanel) had a rather nifty little gadget….a Lightsaber Toasting Knife. Well, here is my attempt to recreate one, this is Trillian’s Toaster….

As you can see I have tried to recreate the knife Trillian uses to slice the loaf of bread. The cool thing about it was that it toasted the bread at the same time. This design I hope is equally cool. It has the same red blade which is activated by twisting the two coupler sections (the two ring sections) on the body. One ring activates the saber/knife and the second ring adjusts the length of the blade. This wouldn’t work in real life but you could use a regular length blade, then swap it for a short (6-8inches) long blade used on Kylo Ren style cross-guard sabers which would look more knife-like!

the-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy-lightsaber-knife
“Can I cut through anything with this?”

As you can see my version is fairly accurate, to be honest the original was just an ordinary three rivet paring knife found in most kitchen knife blocks, and Industrial Light and Magic (ILM the special effects company set up by George Lucas!) added the lightsaber blade! So the handle might be different but the blade looks the same  😀 !

Now after all this designing I really feel hungry, please could I have some…

The-Hitchhiker-s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-Loaf-of-Toast-and-lightsaber-knife-4
Image from Yourprops.com

 

I hope you enjoyed this little design (and breakfast!). It might be early in the day but I am running out of time for this post and will have to end shortly. But first I’d like to thank you all once again for visiting and supporting me and FTSabersite, you are all very much appreciated. Please call back to see what designs I have coming up from myself and my friends in future posts. Till next time.

Trillian and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy were created by Douglas Adams. Trillian, The Hitchhiker’s Guide and all names, logos, images and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Douglas Adams, Touchstone Pictures, Spyglass Entertainment and Everyman Pictures.

Leave a Reply

