Phantom Tie Lightsaber – Based on the V38 Tie Phantom

Hello Everybody, I hope you have recovered from the dizzying storyline of Clara Oswald and my Impossible Lightsaber design for her. We return to the Star Wars Universe again, or at least the SW Universe of the computer games produced by LucasArts. This saber is based on a striking looking Tie Fighter design called the V38 Prototype or Tie Phantom. I say it was striking to look at but you would be hard pressed to see it as the vessel had a clever trick up it’s sleeve…it had cloaking technology! Very much like the Klingon Bird of Prey, this ship used Stygium Crystals to produce a shield of invisibilty and combined with superior agility and speed was nearly impossible to detect. The ship design and construction was overseen by Grand Admiral Batch and this is my tribute to the V38, I call it Phantom Tie…

This design came about while I was watching Rogue One and saw the new Tie Fighters called the Tie Striker which had two hinged wing sections. It got me thinking as to just how many variants of the Tie Fighter there actually were. (I had to do some real deep digging to get access to all the Imperial classified documents 😀 !) Whilst scrolling through the pictures this trident style fighter loomed out at me and as soon as I saw it knew it looked like one of the clawed emitters! So I built this hilt using that emitter. The blade is green to represent the Tie Fighter’s laser weapons (Phantoms had 5 lasers, two under the cockpit windows and three more in the wingtips!) The windows on the emitter let the green light out and I thought they could be the Stygium Crystals for the cloaking device. As this is a saber I had to add a switch, body and pommel but I think they all TIE-in (sorry!) with the overall look, with the pommel being the engines. Here’s a little known fact, TIE Fighters are named after the engine configuration, so TIE stands for Twin Ion Engine Fighter!

To give you an idea of what the saber looks like minus the handle here is a mini gallery..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There you have it, a little insight into the shadowy world of Stealth Technology of the Empire. The V38 Tie Phantom  was conceived by Vince Lee for the 1995 LucasArts video game Star Wars: Rebel Assault II: The Hidden Empire. The fighter was drawn up by Rich Green based on an early sketch of the Lambda-class T-4a shuttle. I hope they liked my homage to their work.

I’m afraid I am going to have to disappear into the shadows as this post draws to an end. I hope you found this look into Stealth Tie Fighters interesting and you will return to see what designs I have coming up next. Your support is very welcome. Till next time.

Star Wars: Rebel Assault II: The Hidden Empire, V38 Tie Phantom and all other names, images and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of LucasArts.

One thought on “Phantom Tie Lightsaber – Based on the V38 Tie Phantom”

Leave a Reply

