Demolition – Inspired by GOTG’s Drax the Destroyer

Hello Everybody, I am pleased to present my latest design in my inspired by Guardians of the Galaxy series. This time we will meet the “BIG GUY” of the team, Drax the Destroyer! Originally Drax was known as Arthur Douglas, a human with a wife and child living on earth. One day the super villain Thanos appeared on earth and fearing he had been seen by Arthur and his family, attacked the car they were travelling in. Arthur was critically injured, his wife was killed but his daughter survived, later to be adopted by Thanos’ father Mentor. Arthur however was rescued by the Titan god Kronos and reincarnated in a new body. So was born Drax the Destroyer, whose only purpose in life was to kill Thanos. Drax was reborn and this is the birth of my design for his saber, this is DEMOLITION…

Drax is an imposing figure with superhuman strength, resilience and at one time had the ability to fire energy bolts from his hands. He later lost this power but maybe this saber will make up for that. The saber has a medium blue blade which projects from a powder coated emitter. The powder coat is almost the exact same colour as Drax, and to reinforce the image I gave the grenade grip blocks a coat of red powder coat to represent the vanes and lines covering his massive physique. The switch section is nicely placed so that Drax can wield two of these sabers in either normal grip or reverse grip just like the daggers he uses at the moment. I hope he likes these and they will help him in future situations.

I have nearly come to the end of this post but I just have time to inform you I’ve received notification my copies of Rogue One are being delivered tomorrow! YAY! I didn’t even know it had been released, I have been that busy I haven’t seen any adverts or promotions announcing that it was available. So I will watch Rogue a few more times over the next couple of days and start work on some new Star wars hilts and maybe a few more Guardians designs for Ronan the Accuser and Nebula!

I hope you will return to see what I can come up with, but I’d like to thank you all for visiting today (including the viewer I had call in from France yesterday – I did see you, Merci!) I’ll get back to work now….Till next time.

Drax the Destroyer was created by Jim Starlin and appeared in numerous Marvel publications. Drax the Destroyer, Ronan the Accuser and all other Guardians of the Galaxy names, images, logos and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Walt Disney Studios and Marvel Comics/Entertainment.

Leave a Reply

