Galaxy Lord Lightsaber – Inspired by Peter Quill

Hello Everybody, yes this post is coming in wearing rocket powered boots! The reason is two-fold, firstly I have a new series of designs inspired by a potential blockbuster sequel movie opening on the 5th May, and I’ll tell you the second reason later on. So the big film is Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2, and I just happened to watch the original film two days ago (I know my satellite entertainment provider is very slow!) which fired my imagination. The film was larger than life, with some great special FX, really funny characters…especially this guy, Star Lord! You may know him as Peter Quill, a human(?) who was abducted by aliens when he was a child. Twenty-something years later he had become a bit of a scoundrel, stealing and selling, ducking and diving. His exploits resulted in him becoming shipmates with four other misfits who we will meet in future posts, but you want to see a new saber now don’t you? Ok may I present…Galaxy Lord…

I based this hilt on Star Lord when he has his rocket propelled boots on and flies about in space. He also needs a special helmet to provide him life support when he is outside the safety of his ship, Marino, and I tried to recreate that look. The blade is coloured Blood Orange (because it looks good against a starry background!) and projects from the emitter. That emitter has two strategically placed thumbscrews which I painted red. They look exactly like the red lenses of Peter’s helmet and I painted the lip of the emitter a translucent brown to represent his hair sticking out from the mask. The other ribs and grooves look like the grille and tubing on the mask. I coloured the accent rings on the switch section in the same translucent brown, to look like his jacket. It also helps prevent the saber just being plain black! The body section has a wasp waist type section that narrows and flares giving an impression of speed.

I think this saber would compliment his twin double barrelled laser pistols quite nicely, and he could have used this to defeat Kree Ronan, an alien intent on obtaining an artefact Peter had stolen, which contained a planet killing source of power called an Infinity Stone. Well I mentioned that Peter met four misfits and yes we’ll meet them in upcoming posts. I hope you will return to see these new GOTG themed hilts.

Now the second reason this is a special post, is that thanks to you my site has achieved 3000 VIEWS! This means a lot to me, thank you each and every one of you. I never imagined I would reach this figure so soon.

I am afraid I that time has come when I have to end, I need to put some fertilizer and finishing touches to one of my designs. Thank you again for your support and please continue to call back and tell your friends about FTSabersite! Till next time.

Guardians of the Galaxy, Peter “Star Lord” Quill” and any other names, logos or related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Walt Disney Studios and Marvel Comics/Entertainment.

Leave a Reply

