SensorScope Lightsaber – Inspired by R2-D2

Hello Everybody, as the picture above shows I have managed to finish my tribute to the second droid we saw in Star Wars all those years ago! This is a saber inspired by R2-D2 the Astromech droid we first saw during the battle on the Rebel Stockade Runner, the Tantive V. Artoo had a chance meeting with Princess Leia (or was it the will of the Force?) who gave him the plans for the Empire’s super weapon the Death Star, and with C-3PO escaped in a life pod to the planet of Tatooine below. This wasn’t the little droid’s first adventure but I’ll tell you a bit more later after I present my design…SensorScope Lightsaber…

I think this looks a bit like our heroic little droid, the colours are as close a match as is possible to get. I went through a few ideas for this design, first I thought of just designing a saber that Artoo may have carried inside himself, like he did for Luke Skywalker. Then I considered basing it on a particular part of Artoo himself, to make it a bit more personal to him, then I learnt how to add the new Powder Coat colours and this final version came to mind. I made the hilt look like the Sensor Scope that projects from Artoo’s domed head (he used it to scan for Luke in Empire Strikes Back and for Princess Leia in Return of the Jedi).Then came the powder coat to leave you in no doubt who the hilt is based on. Here is what the hilt looked like before…Sensorscope Hilt

It still looks ok, but the new paint scheme lifts the hilt and gives it that bit extra! And Artoo is a droid with a bit extra in the courage department, remember when he saved his previous owner, Queen Amidala and the crew of the Royal Starship? Well Artoo has now been elevated from the situation of having an owner to being an owner. He is now the proud (hopefully) owner of a For Tyeth Edition saber.

I also have to give mention to the man inside the machine we know as Artoo, Kenny Baker who sadly passed away last year. Without this great actor we wouldn’t have the fond memories of R2-D2 we all share today, so thank you Mr Baker, we miss you.

KennyBaker MTFBWY

I hope you have enjoyed this tribute to the droid that saved the day so many times. And there’s that word again…Time….and it’s running out for this post! Before I leave you all I’d like to say thanks for visiting today and checking out my work. I have a few more designs in the pipeline for future posts and I hope you’ll join me to see those! Till next time.

R2-D2, C-3PO, the Tantive V and all other names, images and related materials are Trademark/©Copyright of Disney/LucasFilm.

Leave a Reply

