The Process – What Goes Into Making a For Tyeth Edition

Hello Everybody, today I feel I need to give you folks a little “behind the scenes” tour of FTSabersite. Don’t worry you won’t see any pictures of me (not a pretty sight!), but it should give you a little insight to what it takes to create these designs.

Firstly I will repeat for clarity I do not work for or have any official connection to any of the companies mentioned here. I am a member of the two forums owned by Saberforge and Ultrasabers but that’s it. You can find links to these forums and the respective companies’ websites in the sidebar on the right> and I will have a link or two at the end of this post. Legal stuff over…let’s begin shall we?

Ok the very first step is to get some form of inspiration, for me it can come from anywhere, comic books, films, sports, I even created a design while I had a little short holiday (it was based on a lighthouse!). It doesn’t have to be Star Wars related but for this article I will use the BB-8 Lightsaber posted yesterday as the focus today. So I realised that BB-8’s colours were striking and similar to the new powder coat colours some lightsabers can be painted with. Knowing this I had to figure out which saber parts best represented the little spherical droid. I mostly use Saberforge’s Adaptive Saber Parts (ASP) online builder. It is a virtual design app where you have a catalogue of saber parts that you can arrange and swap, add lights, sounds and blades until you get the design you want. If you can afford it you can then order those parts and build the saber for “Real”.

SF Builder
Saberforge’s ASP Builder – the first page.

The ASP builder has pictures of parts you can scroll through and click to add to your design. For example there are 45 emitters/blade holders, 32 switch sections and similar quantities of body parts and pommel end caps. If you do the sums the total number of combinations total over 1 BILLION according to Saberforge.

After creating your basic design for your saber you can choose the colour of the light for the blade and you have the choice of four “Finishes” for the parts. They can be Aluminium silver with black accents (called Dual Tone), plain solid black, plain solid silver or a Weathered finish that makes the saber look old and dirty…you know used! You can then download a list of the parts in case you want to order them and take some snapshot pictures of your design to show people. However you will have noticed my designs have become more colourful recently but these options aren’t available in Saberforge’s builder. This is where I take things a little bit further. If you are interested in reading how I do that then please click the button to go to page two!

Leave a Reply

