Speeder HRC Lightsaber – Honda’s MotoGP Team

Hello Everybody, today we return to MotoGP and my motorcycle themed hilts. The team I am celebrating this time is the Honda Racing Corporation (HRC). It all started in Hamamatsu, Japan in 1946 when Soichiro Honda and Takeo Fujisawa formed the Honda Motor Co. They too experimented with internal combustion engines for farming machinery, boats, power generators anything that needed an engine. Honda built motorised bicycles which developed into full motorcycle designs. One of the best known of the latest models was the CBR-1000RR Fireblade. Being a mechanic and racer, Honda soon formed the Motorcycle division and since 1959 has been the biggest manufacturer. The racing division Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) formed in 1982. This is my tribute to the present day HRC MotoGP team, this is Speeder HRC…

If you have seen my previous designs you will know that I tried to create a saber that had the lines of a top flight racing machine. The emitter forms the front mudguard and fairings. The switch is the main body of the bike complete with the cut outs for the radiators! The seat is created using the saber’s leather grip from which the bike’s exhaust sticks out the back. That exhaust is the FTE pommel with accompanying orange glow. The whole saber is painted in powder coat colours which closely match HRC’s corporate race colours. So you can judge how close I got here is Honda’s race bike..

Honda RC213V
(source Honda Racing Corporation)

I hope Honda and their riders approve. There have been some very famous names riding  these machines ranging from Mike Hailwood (famous for multiple victories in the Isle of Mann TT), multi time MotoGp World Champions Mick Doohan, Valentino Rossi and current Champion Marc Marquez and his team mate Dani Pedrosa. However did you know they also have celebrity fans including a Jedi Knight…here take a look!….

There you go just in case you thought I had forgotten that this site is about sabers 😀 . I do need to point out the newspaper Obi-Wan is reading is a UK based publication called MCN – Motorcycle News! This design finishes my collection of MotoGP hilts and I am close to the end of this post. But before I go I’d like to thank you all for checking all my designs out, your support means a lot. I will be returning to the Star Wars universe and maybe a few sports hilts in upcoming posts. I hope you will join me. Till next time.

Honda Racing Corporation (HRC), CBR-1000RR Fireblade, the Honda “Wing” logo and all names, images and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Honda Motor Co. Japan.

Leave a Reply

