Cylon Command Lightsaber – Inspired by Battlestar Galactica

Hello Everybody, this saber is a design which I have been working on the past couple of days. While painting my MotoGP themed hilts something “bothered” me about the emitter I used. It reminded me of something and eventually my old brain made the connection…the emitter looked like the helmet of a Cylon Warrior from the great Sci-Fi show Battlestar Galactica! Long time followers of this site will recall I made a tribute saber for the late Richard Hatch called Apollo’s Viper so I am a fan of the show. I remember watching it back in 1980 at a party for the UK’s Queen Mother’s 80th birthday celebrations. It was in a community hall on a projector screen and I remember it to this day. I also remember the enemy of that “Rag-tag fleet” of humans trying to find a planet called Earth. They were the Cylons and this is Cylon Command..

Now I have learnt how to apply powder coat style colours, I am able to recreate the look of the cyborgs’ armour plating. The switch also has cutaways revealing black plates just like the plates on the Cylon warrior’s abdomen. The body further reinforces the image of body armour and the finishing touch is a pommel which looks like the Cylons’ feared Base Ship (or at least parts of one, the sections where the Cylon Raider starfighters were housed). Ah…I bet you want to know about the emitter? Well that was the part that looked the most like a Cylon, here are two more pictures to show what I mean…

I felt that the black recessed parts of the emitter resembled the slot for the Cylon’s famous flashing eye sensor and it’s mouth grille. And the noise the eye sensor makes I would use as the swing noise for the saber if I could get permission! This sound was also used by Glen A. Larson in another of his shows, Knight Rider, for the sound of K.I.T.T. the supercar’s flashing sensor!

Well I am afraid time is pressing and I will have to end this post shortly. The process of painting these hilts is time consuming so while I attempt to get the next idea ready to show you all I will also write an article giving a little explanation of the process. Thank you so much for visiting today and I hope you enjoyed what you saw. Please call back and check out my upcoming designs and the “Behind The Screens” post! Till next time.

Battlestar Galactica, Cylon (Warriors) and all related names, logos and material are Trademarks/©Copyright of Glen A. Larson Productions and Universal Television.

Leave a Reply

