Speeder Ducati Lightsaber – Inspired by Ducati MotoGP

Ciao Everybody, I have another of my MotoGP inspired hilts, this time for a famous Italian marque. This company is Ducati Corse S.P.A. which was founded in a round about way in 1926. Antonio Cavalieri Ducati and his sons, Adriano, Bruno and Marcello founded Società Scientifica Radio Brevetti Ducati in Bologna to produce vacuum tubes, condensers and other radio components. After the war another fledgling company in Turin began making small engines to mount on bicycles. Ducati developed their own engine and bicycle called the Cucciolo in 1950 which had a top speed of 40mph!  The company expanded and developed bigger, more powerful bikes and broke speed records etc. The company also moved into the world of racing and achieved similar (but mostly greater) success. Now the top of the line Desmosedici MotoGP racing bike tops 218mph…just a little bit quicker than their Cucciolo!
In recognition of their history here is my design for them..

This design I hope is as elegant as some of Ducati’s own motorcycles. The pure white blade projects from the scalloped emitter which represents the front wheel’s mudguard and fairings. The switch section stands in for the bike’s fairing with cutaways for the radiators. Next up is the rider’s position the seat, represented by the beautifully simple black leather grip section. At either end of this “seat section” are a couple of white flashes to give the indication of the team sponsorships and corporate colours. The saber is finished off with an FTE Pommel, complete with blood orange glow in place of the bike exhaust. The view of the exhaust is probably the most common for the other teams as they try to catch the “Bologna Bullet”. Here is a picture of the latest racing version mentioned above for you to compare…

3-_tin3124_gallery_full_top_md
Ducati MotoGP 2017 bike (source Ducati.com)

As I said before I really hope I’ve done justice to such an amazing piece of technology (and I have seen quite a bit of it in my time 😀 ). I also hope you my viewers and followers enjoyed this bit of Italian influence. Sadly it is nearly time to say “addio” and bring this post to an end. Thank you so much for checking my site out and please call in again if you liked what you saw (and maybe tell your friends about FTSabersite, everyone is welcome). I will have more sports themed hilts, the Ninja Turtles and I am working on new designs. Till next time.

Ducati, Desmosedici and all related names, logos and material are Trademark/©Copyright of AUDI via Ducati Motor Holding S.p.A. This saber design is my tribute however should Audi/Ducati have issue with my using this material please contact me.

Leave a Reply

