Obliterator Katana Lightsaber (Destroy the Competition)

Hello Everybody, today I continue the theme of sport with a design for another Katana, but one with a difference. The world of lightsabers has expanded on Earth to include licenced replicas from the movies to custom sabers of original designs. Now many people just want to collect these pieces of art but some collectors want to put their lighted weapons to the test in “Combat”. This has led to the creation of Lightsaber groups where members stage choreographed fights…and then there is the actual competition side to the art of Lightsabers. A group of enthusiasts have formed a “Lightsaber World Championship” and take part in “real” sword fighting tournaments but using Lightsabers. I have heard of the current “Champ” and I have read his plans to improve his chances of defending his title…”I’m gonna do a weight training regime and stretching exercises to strengthen my legs, because being big and strong and having a long reach will help me beat everyone!!” Blah! Blah! Blah! He also used a Lightsaber he designed himself to win (which was much longer than anyone else’s). Long story short, I know of a potential challenger who is probably the Champs’ equal in size, strength and speed, but hasn’t got a specially designed saber to help him…until now! I call this saber Obliterator…

Obliterator is probably of similar specification to the saber that is being promoted for the next tournament but I hope mine has the advantage. It has a traditional katana emitter and hand guard (tsuba) but I decided to use two ribbed sections for the hilt’s body. This allows the user to grip the saber anywhere along it’s length, varying the user’s reach so his/her opponent is always off guard. As a result the opponent cannot gauge the distance between the combatants. The user can also vary the grip to obtain leverage, in physics a smaller effort (or force) can produce the same effect or outcome if the force is channelled properly (known as mechanical advantage). The hilt can also be shortened if the user wants to fight using two sabers.

rangers-coming-soon

I will end the technical thesis here, as it could get boring quickly. However I believe that this would be a good saber to use in any upcoming tournament if it were ever built. And the guy who I designed this for? Well I won’t name him but he has designed a few sabers himself so knows a thing or two about them. Who knows he may even comment on this saber if he sees it.

I am afraid I need to bring this post to an end, time is once more upon me . I don’t know if these two individuals would ever meet in a tournament but it would be interesting. I hope you enjoyed this design (if not the science lesson 😀 ) and will return to see more new sabers. Thanks for visiting today. Till next time.

“Obliterator Katana”, “For Tyeth Editions” and this website and contents are ©Copyright of For Tyeth/FTSabersite 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

