Rogue One – For Tyeth’s Thoughts

Hello Everyone, I have just this parsec got back from watching Rogue One! I am physically and emotionally drained. I had high hopes for this film when I saw the trailer but I was not prepared for what I was about to see. This film hit me hard, imagine the impact of the previous 7 movies combined with the power of a “fully operational battle station” and you would still not be anywhere near the force with which this film hits. I am not an expert in film reviews, I studied media and acting at college so always find myself picking faults and technicalities out but here I saw a film that was so compelling and powerful that I watched, riveted to the action.

director-hilt
My design for Director Krennic

The film begins by explaining how Jyn Erso gets to be in the position she finds herself in and the relationship with her parents. This was done really well, avoiding the messy introductions we saw with The Phantom Menace – which had to cater to old and new viewers, and cramming too much into too little space. As a result Gareth Edwards paces the movie beautifully, always with a sense of tension making you want to carry on watching and investing in the characters you are watching. There is plenty of morality and emotional conflict but this doesn’t mean that it is taking a stand on either side, rather it shows the struggles of conscience people find themselves in in such circumstances.

erso_irebel-1
My Jyn Erso inspired IRebel Hilt

Felicity Jones and Diego Luna worked fantastically opposite each other. The performances were powerful from all of the cast, though I have to give a big mention for Grand Moff Tarkin who was a cleverly constructed CGI replica from footage of the late great Peter Cushing (minus his slippers). At first I thought Tarkin was played by Wayne Pygram but apparently not!  Donnie Yen also needs a mention as Chirrut Imwe who provided a brave connection to the Force.

catuso-hilt
My K-2SO inspired Katuso Hilt

There were moments of humour with great one-liners, all of which were appropriate for the particular scene they were in. The special effects were amazingly done (though they skirted with overdoing the amount of Tie-Fighters once but they needed to, to  reflect the overpowering odds). The sound was awesome and you could hear each and every word spoken. There were great speeches, amazing action and everything you would want in an adventure movie like this. And bearing in mind some “older” fans will already know the outcome this movie still succeeds. I am planning my next viewing already.

I could go on but I feel that you need to see the film for yourselves, I thoroughly enjoyed it and I hope you do also.

There is another VERY special CGI appearance but I won’t spoil it for you.

Rogue One – A Star Wars story is in cinemas now. All names and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Disney/Lucasfilm.

 

6 thoughts on “Rogue One – For Tyeth’s Thoughts”

    1. Hi Sean, I have just responded to your comment with the link to Wikipedia regarding Parsecs! I remember all the spoilers for TFA last year and I really think you need to see the film yourselves. I am being brave and recommending it because I can’t afford to go see many films but I truly thought this was worth my money.

      Like

Leave a Reply

