Explorer LC Lightsaber (inspired by Lara Croft)

Hello Everyone, I haven’t posted in a few days, sorry ’bout that. I had an invitation to go an adventure which took me out of communication range. I was asked to stay at a holiday camp and when I got there I discovered that there was no Internet connection, mobile/cell phones only just had the range to operate, it was out in the wilderness of the Outer Rim of the UK. This sense of adventure I experienced triggered the designer in me and when I got back to civilisation I started on the 3d builder.

While switching between parts I noticed a colour scheme that reminded me of one of the most famous explorers of all time (albeit the creation of a talented computer games studio). The image that popped into my head was of Lara Croft and the Tomb Raider games from Eidos. The connection was so strong I thought it would be a great “Crossover” design, so here is ExplorerLC…

I thought the design had a nice edge of technology and tribal elements. The clawed emitter is reminiscent of a torch like the sort seen in movies hanging on cave walls. The colour of the blade and the metallic strips on the switch section match the colour scheme used for the Anniversary Edition of the Tomb Raider game. The black, amber and metallic sections seem to blend nicely and I can picture Lara with her trademark pistol in one hand and ExplorerLC in the other cutting through the jungle undergrowth and discovering an Inca (or Jedi) temple!

I will finish here with a word of caution, if someone you know offers you a free holiday in the Redwoods Retreat, don’t do what I did and get excited thinking you’re gonna get to go to the National Park (famous for it’s giant Redwood trees) where Return of the Jedi’s scenes on Endor were filmed. I discovered the Redwoods Retreat was the name of the section of the caravan/trailer park I was staying in! Anyway, the few days in the countryside did me a world of good and recharged my batteries for more designs.

I hope you enjoyed this one and please come back for future posts, I have checked my stats and discovered that this site has had visitors from Hong Kong and the  Philippines recently and I want to thank you all for visiting.

Tomb Raider (Anniversary), Lara Croft are Trademarks/©Copyright of Eidos Entertainment. Star Wars, Endor and related material are Trademark/©Copyright of Disney/Lucasfilm.

Leave a Reply

