Timeline FTE Graflex (A Next Gen Lightsaber)

The “Graflex” was the first ever Lightsaber any of us saw on screen, way back in 1977. It was the weapon of a Jedi, elegant and iconic. It was constructed in real life from the handle of a photographic flash gun, the type you see in the films of the 40’s 50’s (they were attached to the side of newspaper reporters’ cameras). The prop builders removed the bowl shaped reflector and basically had a Lightsaber handle. The saber according to some wasn’t perfect however as one section, the switch box, got in the way of gripping it properly for dueling. With the modular system Saberforge uses I tried to tweak the design and add a personal touch to it. This resulted in my next offering, I call this saber Timeline FTE Graflex..

I had to take care with this design as there is a lot of love for the original Graflex saber. I hope I have done it justice. The emitter is the iconic Graflex shape but I used the switch from Obi-Wan Kenobi’s saber (from the original Star Wars film) and to make holding the hilt easier I added my trademark, the FTE type pommel. This gave a slightly longer lower grip section but also a new modern look. The part I used for the pommel has three windows to represent the original trilogy of films as a nod of appreciation and acknowledgement.

I sincerely hope all of you like this design, the Graflex is still the saber to own, this was just my tribute to it. I still have more designs to present to you and hope you come back to check them out.

Star Wars and all related names and material are Trademark/©Copyright of Disney/Lucasfilm.

“FTE” and “For Tyeth Emitter Pommel” ©Copyright 2016 of For Tyeth.

Leave a Reply

