Le Fin(n)Lightsaber (A Stormtrooper’s Graflex)

My second post today focuses on another “What if…?”. The saber is a little more orthodox but hopefully still effective. The idea that came up was, the Stormtrooper we saw in the trailers for The Force Awakens could become one of the heroes of the film and maybe become a Jedi. Again as a young Jedi this Stormtrooper would have to build his own saber. I thought if this were to happen he would take inspiration (as was Jedi tradition) from his Master’s saber, in this case the Graflex we first saw in Star Wars way back in 1977, but modify it to become easier to use and more efficient. A lot of people complain about the large box for the activation switch getting in the way when duelling. Well a Stormtrooper would rectify this and I set about the same task, to design a comfortable version of an Icon. This saber I call Le Fin(n).

This is my redesign for Finn’s possible weapon (it’s about time I called him by his name) to make it more user friendly but still look like the Graflex it is based on. I know there are purists out there and I hope I haven’t upset them with this design. It was just a mad idea that went through my head at the time but hopefully some of you out there will like it.

I will be posting some more Guest Designer’s creations over the next few days so please check back and thank you for your time!

Star Wars, The Force Awakens, Finn and related names/material are Trademarks/©Copyright of Disney/Lucasfilm.

 

Leave a Reply

