Mercurial Lightsaber Sceptre (Tribute to a Musical Great)

September 5th 1946, an important date in music history and as a result a date with a big influence on me. On this date Frederick Bulsara was born in Zanzibar. He moved to London, England and studied Art at college and befriended three other students. They formed one of the greatest bands in history. Frederick changed his name and a legend was born, he became Freddie Mercury, frontman of the band Queen. Freddie was way ahead of his contemporaries and his music was phenomenal.

Bohemian Rhapsody, all seven minutes of it becoming part of human history was released at the time I was born. Somehow there must have been a connection made as I taught myself to play piano and became hooked on Queen’s music.

So it is Freddie’s Birthday today and has been honoured by having an asteroid named after him. I can’t offer that but I can design a sceptre for the great frontman, this is Mercurial..

The red leather grips represent the robe Freddie wore to “God Save the Queen” at the end of their legendary concerts. There isn’t an activation switch as I believe Freddie would never fight, this is meant to be a ceremonial sceptre. And if you look closely  you may see the outline of his “Crown” in the pommel.

So this has been my thank you to a great musician, who I miss but take comfort from the gifts he gave us…his music.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.